Noskowski: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2 "Elegiac" / Wit, Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Although he had famous students (i.e. Szymanowski) and teachers (Moniuszko), few listeners know much, if anything, about Zygmunt Noskowski (1846–1909). And yet, for most of the 19th century, he was the primary exponent of modern symphonic music in Poland. As a conductor and concert organizer, he had himself championed the causes of forgotten Polish composers. Now it is Antoni Wit, Noskowski’s successor at the helm of the Warsaw Philharmonic at a distance of 94, who helps out his late-romantic colleague – just as he has already done with the music Zygmunt Stojowski on a previous Capriccio recording (C5464).


When you listen to the music of Zygmunt Noskowski, you can’t help but notice that all of the elemental characteristics of late 19th century orchestral music are present. The intense seriousness of Brahms, the romantic idealism of Schumann, as well as the folk-influenced melodic writing of Dvorák. And within its overall sunny disposition, it even points to some of Bruckner’s more lighthearted scherzo movements.

There’s a heartwarming ease and charm to the inner slow movements of these symphonies, as well as dramatic and rhythmic fervor to the outer movements. All aspects that Polish conductor Antoni Wit brings to the forefront. The members of the Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz perform this music with enthusiasm and the same attention to expressive details they would apply to any and all repertoire standbys and warhorses. Makes you wonder why Zygmunt Noskowski’s name doesn’t come up to the surface more often.

-- Classical Music Sentinel

Product Description:

  • Release Date: August 04, 2023

  • Catalog Number: C5509

  • UPC: 845221055091

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Romantic

  • Composer: Zygmunt Noskowski

  • Conductor: Antoni Wit

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Deutsche Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz


  1. Symphony No. 2 in C Minor, "Elegiac"

    Composer: Zygmunt Noskowski

    Ensemble: Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz

    Conductor: Antoni WIt

  2. Symphony No. 1 in A Major

    Composer: Zygmunt Noskowski

    Ensemble: Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz

    Conductor: Antoni WIt