Diepenbrock: Symphonic Poems / Hermus, Bamberg Symphony

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Listeners of this new release will be shocked to learn that Diepenbrock was never trained professionally as a musician. He was a philologist and teacher. While this may make him seem like an amateur, he held his own among the best Dutch composers of his day. Diepenbrock was also interested in theater, particularly the great tragedies. This is where his philologist training and his compositional skill merged. He composed five incidental works during the last years of his life, including “Marsyas,” “Gijsbrecht van Aemstel,” “The Birds,” “Faust,” and “Elektra.” In these stage works he combined music with the theatrical elements of recitation and dance. Critics agree that this music was far beyond its time and that his music far outweighed the appeal of the dramas for which he wrote.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 777927-2

  • UPC: 761203792726

  • Label: CPO

  • Composer: Alphons Diepenbrock

  • Conductor: Antony Hermus

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bamberg Symphony Orchestra