Hakenberger: 55 Motets from the Pelplin Tableture / Lukaszewski, Musica Fiorita, Kameralny Polish Choir

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Andreas Hakenberger spent his entire professional career within the territory of the Crown of the Kingdom of Poland, remaining for 20 years as chapel-master at the Lutheran Church of St. mary’s in Gdansk. Here he wrote his most outstanding works, a sequence of important motets written in cori spezzati, or polychoral technique. The rich tonal coloring obtained through the combinations of vocal parts is enhanced by the variety of the accompanying instrumentation. With astute use of imitation and rhetorical pauses, Hakenberger’s music emerges as richly colorful, graceful and vibrant. There have been very few recordings of the music of Andreas Hakenberger. This release offers by far the most of his music yet to be issued, and contains all of the 55 motets preserved in the Pelplin Tablature.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 12, 2018

  • Catalog Number: 8573743-44

  • UPC: 747313374373

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Andreas Hakenberger

  • Conductor: Jan Lukaszewski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Musica Fiorita, Polish Chamber Choir