Agitata / Galou, Dantone, Accademia Bizantina

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
2018 Gramophone Magazine Recital Album of the Year

Delphine Galou is renowned and admired for her musicality and her appealing timbre. She has taken part in many productions of Baroque music and recordings of operas (notably by Vivaldi), but this is her first recital. It is a programme of sacred music, motets, cantatas and excerpts from oratorios, which in the course of the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries were influenced by the increasingly fashionable genre of opera. From the famous ‘Agitata infido flatu’ from Vivaldi’s oratorio Juditha triumphans, here counterpointed by an aria from another setting of the story of Judith composed by Jommelli, to Stradella’s Lamentations and Porpora’s magnificent motet ‘In procella sine stella’, Delphine Galou covers a wide range of spiritual emotions. She is accompanied by the excellent Accademia Bizantina under its director and harpsichordist Ottavio Dantone. A concerto byGregori and a sinfonia by Caldara complete this release, which includes several world premiere recordings.



This is a treasure trove of rare music, and Galou is the perfect singer to introduce us to it, thanks to an agile and comfortable technique (hear the way she sails effortlessly through her full compass in a single phrase in the first aria of the Porpora). The orchestral playing is keen as mustard and filled with typically telling detail by director Ottavio Dantone. A lovely disc of discoveries.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: Alpha371

  • UPC: 3760014193712

  • Label: Alpha

  • Composer: Alessandro Stradella, Antonio Caldara, Antonio Vivaldi, Giovanni Battista Brevi, Giovanni Lorenzo Gregori, Giuseppe Torelli, Niccolò Jommelli, Nicolo Porpora

  • Conductor: Ottavio Dantone

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Accademia Bizantina Orchestra

  • Performer: Delphine Galou