Fikta: New Icelandic Music for Accordion / Ásgeirsson, Elja Ensemble

Regular price $15.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The accordion was one of the first instruments to become common in Iceland in the nineteenth century. In recent years, Iceland has produced several out- standing accordionists, including Jónas Ásgeir Ásgeirsson. This release contains music by three generations of Icelandic composers, written between 1972 and 2020, including two works created especially for Ásgeirsson himself. Jónas Ásgeir Ásgeirsson is a classical accordionist based in Copenhagen where he is enrolled in the post-graduate program of the Royal Danish Academy of Music under the tutelage of Geir Draugsvoll, one of the leading accordion soloist/pedagogues worldwide.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 21, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8226720

  • UPC: 636943672020

  • Label: Dacapo CONS

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Atli Ingolfsson, Finnur Karlsson, Fridrik Margretar-Gudmundsson, Thorkell Sigurbjornsson, Atli Heimir Sveinsson

  • Conductor: Bjarni Frimann Bjarnason

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Elja Ensemble

  • Performer: Jonas Asgeir Asgeirsson, Thorgunnur Anna Ornolfsdottir, Katerina Anagnostidou, Mikkel Schou