1. Brahms, Montgomery, Weber: Here With You / McGill, Chien

Brahms, Montgomery, Weber: Here With You / McGill, Chien

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Anthony McGill, principal clarinet of the New York Philharmonic, and pianist Gloria Chien, a frequent performer with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, make their commercial recording debut as a duo on Here with You, an album of early and late German Romantic masterworks they’ve treasured throughout their 15 years of mutual admiration and musical collaboration. It’s a project that embodies, in the artists’ words, a “shared expression of beauty and friendship.” Johannes Brahms and Carl Maria von Weber were accomplished pianists who wrote for — and performed with — the leading clarinetists of their day. Brahms’ Sonata No. 1, Opus 120, spotlights fast-paced, intense dialogues between the two players, while his Sonata No. 2 explores the clarinet’s entire tonal range. Weber’s Grand Duo Concertant has been described as “a double concerto without orchestra” showcasing sheer virtuosity for both instruments. The Chicago Symphony Orchestra’s newest Mead Composer-in-Residence, Jessie Montgomery wrote Peace in 2020 as a response to the global pandemic. McGill and Chien offer the world-premiere recording of the clarinet and piano version.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: CDR 207

  • UPC: 735131920728

  • Label: Cedille

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Carl Maria von Weber, Jessie Montgomery, Johannes Brahms

  • Performer: Anthony McGill, Gloria Chien