Weber: Overtures / Kuhn, Staatskapelle Dresden

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

With Capriccio Encore we re-release the most famous recordings from the back catalogue in a remastered version, new design and for a special price. Legendary recordings of artists like Sandor Vegh, Ton koopman, Sir Nevill Marriner or the Vienna boys’ Choir are also included as special repertoire highlights from the baroque to the contemporary era. German composer Carl Maria Von Weber was one of the most significant composers in the romantic school. His operas greatly influenced the development of Romantic Opera in Germany, with his “Der Freischutz” being regarded as the first German “nationalist” opera. This release features the overtures from several of his operas, including the aforementioned as well as “Euryanthe,” “Abu Hassan,” and others. The Staatskapelle Dresden has a long history with the music of Weber, and rises to meet this challenge wonderfully under the baton of Gustav Kuhn.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: C8009

  • UPC: 845221080093

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Composer: Carl Maria von Weber

  • Conductor: Gustav Kuhn

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Dresden Staatskapelle