Weber: The Clarinet as Prima Donna

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

On this recording, Belgian clarinettist Roeland Hendrikx intends to rehabilitate Weber by playing his best music. Weber was an animal of the theatre in all his works: the Clarinet Concertos are increasingly recognised as early highlights in Weber’s career. The introductory assertion in the Breitkopf & Hartel-edition of 1954 states that Weber’s three works for clarinet and orchestra represent “a clear creative climax...the precipitation of a completely mature personality”. Previous release by Roeland Hendrikx on Evil Penguin: Dedications (Clarinet Concertos by Finzi, Mozart and Bruch). Klassik Heute: "Hendrikx's soft, unbroken tone, perfect in all registers, blends wonderfully with the with downright heavenly euphony and sublime tonal perfection of London Philharmonic."

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 02, 2023

  • Catalog Number: EPRC 0053

  • UPC: 0608917724028

  • Label: Evil Penguin

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Classical

  • Composer: Carl Maria von Weber

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Staatsorchester Rheinische Philharmonie

  • Performer: Roeland Hendrikx