Hu, Lee, Lee III & Moore: Memories Unsettled / Gibbs Street Duo

Regular price $14.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Memories Unsettled explores music that has too often been marginalized from the historical musical canon. Sun Min Kim and Hilary Glen joined forces during the height of the pandemic, forming the Gibbs Street Duo. This piano-cello duo tours colleges and universities across the country, sharing their inspiring music with students, faculty, and other patrons of the arts. The album features composers from diverse backgrounds including Dorothy Rudd Moore, James Lee III, Ching-chu Hu, and HyeKyung Lee. Moore’s Dirge and Deliverance is a sonata in two movements written in 1971 that uses music to reflect on the Black experience in 1960s America. Abraham’s Sons written by James Lee III was written in 2013 to express horror and outrage at the killing of Trayvon Martin. Through these pieces and more like them, the Gibbs Street Duo demonstrate the power and relevance of music as a catalyst for change.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 08, 2022

  • Catalog Number: NV6437

  • UPC: 896931007375

  • Label: Navona

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Ching-Chu Hu, Hyekyung Lee, James Lee III, Dorothy Rudd Moore

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gibbs Street Duo

  • Performer: Hilary Glen, Sun Min Kim