Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No 1; Rachmaninov: Cello Sonata / Sol Gabetta, Olga Kern, Lorin Maazel

Regular price $11.98
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Wherever internationally acclaimed cellist Sol Gabetta plays, she impresses with her captivating interpretations, her passionate, full-bodied play and her charismatic, conquering personality. Her great versatility of style and repertoire distinguishes her and she can grip an audience through her music. Her performances amaze whether in concert with great symphony orchestras, baroque ensembles or in recitals with chamber musicians.

On this new, live album, Sol Gabetta plays with the Munich Philharmonic under the baton of Lorin Maazel. No stranger to the music of Dmitri Shostakovich, it was with the Russian composer’s Concerto No. 2 that she had her international breakthrough with the Vienna Philharmonic, winning the renowned Credit Suisse Young Artist Award. Rounding out the album is the only cello sonata from Sergei Rachmaninov, on which she is joined by Rachmaninov piano specialist, Olga Kern.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 88725435752

  • UPC: 887254357520

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Dmitri Shostakovich, Sergei Rachmaninov

  • Conductor: Lorin Maazel

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Munich Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Olga Kern, Sol Gabetta