Shostakovich: Symphony No. 10 - Mahler: Symphony No. 10 (Adagio & Purgatorio) / Zweden, Hong Kong Philharmonic

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

These two Tenth Symphonies represent powerful statements by composers undergoing the greatest of crises in their eventful lives. Gustav Mahler’s last and incomplete symphony was kept a secret by his widow Alma for many years after his death, the desperate scrawl of ‘Almschi!’ on its final page an outburst at her betrayal of their marriage. Shostakovich’s intense and deeply symbolic SymphonyNo.10, considered by many to be his finest, was kept hidden by the composer for fear of Soviet reprisals, and was only performed after Stalin’s death in 1953.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 18, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8574372

  • UPC: 747313437276

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Gustav Mahler, Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Conductor: Jaap Van Zweden

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra