The London Violin Sound

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

A unique demonstration of massed instrumental playing, featuring no less than 48 violinists under the baton of Geoffrey Simon. Three of London's finest sections drive the concept of the violin ensemble to new heights in these innovative, hugely sonorous treatments of repertoire from Debussy to Gershwin. "Monti's Csardas of course sounds appropriately passionate: and when it gets going the 48 players clearly enjoy their own virtuosity: the result is exhilarating" (Gramophone) "Stand out track is Shostakovich's Romance from The Gadfly which demonstrates how an effective melody can benefit from an arrangement sympathetic to colorful harmonies" (Classic CD)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 15, 2022

  • Catalog Number: SIGCD2008

  • UPC: 635212200827

  • Label: Signum Classics

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Claude Debussy, Antonin Dvorak, George Gershwin, Aram Khatchaturian, Pietro Mascagni, Vittorio Monti, Sergei Rachmaninoff, Dmitri Shostakovich

  • Conductor: Geoffrey Simon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: The London Violin Sound