Rebay: Sonatas For Flute And Guitar / Belotto, Noque

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
An instrument that is almost entirely absent from the output of the great pre- twentieth-century composers, the guitar has long been viewed as a means to discovering new repertoire and neglected composers. One such example is Ferdinand Rebay, whose works (which have only recently come to light) present a unique case in bridging the central-European gap. This release is dedicated to his two Sonatas for Flute and Guitar.

Rebay believed that the blending of wind and guitar timbres produced a far more attractive sound than that of winds and piano, and the two sonatas – written in 1942 – date from an immensely productive period as regards the composer’s chamber duo output for guitar. Heavy in dialogue, they reveal a technique deeply rooted in Viennese tradition; from the Neoclassical style of the First, whose Scherzo exudes Beethovenian inspiration, to the stirringly Romance feel of the Second, with its broad phrasing and intensely lyrical passagework, these are two strikingly different works of character that together illuminate a fascinating area of past-century music-making.

In representing the first recording of the two sonatas – works that currently exist only in manuscript form – this release forms a significant addition to Brilliant Classics’ chamber music discography. The two young Spanish artists on the disc, Mari?a Jose? Belotto and Gonzalo Noque? (who created the performing editions), set a high standard with their virtuosic display, arguing a strong case for why this composer deserves to be better known.

• First recordings of the works, made in 2011.
• Performing editions from the manuscripts by Gonzalo Noque?.
• Includes booklet notes and biographies of the performers.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: BRI9291

  • UPC: 5029365929127

  • Label: Brilliant Classics

  • Composer: Ferdinand Rebay

  • Performer: Gonzalo Noqué, María José Belotto