Les Tango de Fratellini: French Reed Music of the Jazz Age / Trio Lézard

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

The proverbial crazy years between the two world wars produced a Parisian institution that still exists today: The bar "Le Bœuf sur le toit," since 1922 a meeting place for artists and intellectuals with a pronounced penchant for the unconventional. If you went there, you could be sure to meet many of those who had rank and name in artistic circles. There was also a great deal of musical openness and curiosity. Tangos, chamber music, swing, classical piano music, chansons...in the "Bœuf" one sounded beside the other completely equally. The "Fratellini", three clowns who had made it to world fame, were also among the style-defining regulars.

Trio Lézard chose them as the namesakes of its fascinating compilation of very different works of that time, which make the artistic atmosphere of departure in Paris tangible and at the same time present the since established instrumentation of the "Trio d'anches" (reed trio) in its variety of sound colors, from the usual oboe, clarinet, saxophone, and bassoon to the now-rare sarrusophone.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 16, 2022

  • Catalog Number: COV92211

  • UPC: 4039956922117

  • Label: Coviello

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Alfredo Barbirolli, Henry Barraud, Eugene Bozza, Bohuslav Martinu, Darius Milhaud, Francis Poulenc, Erwin Schulhoff, Igor Stravinsky, Marc Vaubourgoin, Pierre Wissmer

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Trio Lezard