A Lifetime on Chandos / Neeme Järvi

Regular price $112.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Almost forty years after his first recording on Chandos, this unique limited-edition release gathers some of the best and most-awarded recordings on the label by one of the most prolific conductors of all time: Neeme Järvi. It highlights a 200+ discography that explores an astonishingly wide repertoire, with selections from the legendary complete series of Prokofiev’s symphonies and Tchaikovsky’s ballets to the groundbreaking discoveries of composers such as Atterberg or Suchon. It features nearly a dozen of the numerous orchestras with which he has collaborated, including the RSNO, Chicago Symphony, Orchestre de la Suisse Romande, and Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, all here celebrated at their best. Offered at a very special price and retaining the original covers, this product also includes very special notes by James Jolly, Editor in Chief of Gramophone, as well as exclusive photos and interviews with figures central to Järvi’s extraordinary musical life.

Past praise of previously released material included in this set:

Prokofiev: Symphony No 6, Waltzes Suite / Järvi, SNO

As in all of his Prokofiev symphony recordings–this was the first, by the way–Järvi really digs into the music. The engineering is as big and bold as the performances. This recording deserves classic status.

– ClassicsToday

Smetana: Má Vlast / Järvi, Detroit Symphony

Järvi and the Detroit Symphony Orchestra deliver an expansive reading of the complete work, and their feeling for the music's vivid imagery and richly Romantic expression is spot on.

– All Music Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 14, 2018

  • Catalog Number: CHAN 20088(25)

  • UPC: 095115208823

  • Label: Chandos

  • Number of Discs: 25

  • Period: Romantic, 20th Century

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Bedrich Smetana, Camille Saint-Saëns, Carl Maria von Weber, Charles H. Parry, Charles Hubert Parry, Dmitri Shostakovich, Emmanuel Chabrier, Eugen Suchon, Franz von Suppé, Igor Stravinsky, Jacques Ibert, Joachim Raff, Johan Halvorsen, Johann Strauss Jr., Johannes Brahms, Julius Fucik, Kurt Atterberg, Olga Smirnitzkaja, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Richard Strauss, Richard Wagner, Samuel Barber, Sergei Prokofiev, Sergei Rachmaninov, Zoltán Kodály

  • Conductor: Neeme Järvi

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Detroit Symphony Orchestra, Estonian National Male Choir, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonia Orchestra, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, Royal Scottish National Orchestra, Scottish National Orchestra members, Suisse Romande Orchestra, University Musical Society Choral Union

  • Performer: Amanda Roocroft, Christopher Bouwman, Felicity Lott, Irina Mishura-Lekhtman, Laurence Kaptain, Marianne Thorsen, Olga Zaitseva, Per Högberg, Sara Troback Hesselink, Vladimir Grishko