Touched / Calmus Ensemble

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Calmus Ensemble is one of the most successful a cappella ensembles on the international scene. For their new album touched, the singers from Leipzig have chosen songs and lieder from several centuries on themes which never fail to touch our hearts, and have arranged them for their own forces with the utmost skill. What results is a vocal CD in a class of its own: Sting stands alongside Henry Purcell, Michael Jackson next to Adriano Banchieri, and Elton John beside Monty Python. The ensemble describes the concept in the CD booklet as follows: “As far as themes go, nothing whatsoever has changed: love, longing, pain, but also joy, pleasure and exuberance. That which touches our hearts, which moves us, has been convincingly expressed in music since time immemorial. Then as now, songs were one thing above all – a living expression of the soul! In this common ground the boundaries of the two eras of music on this recording become blurred.” We’re offering you the opportunity to contemplate the texts and music of two very different epochs in a new light and from new perspectives. The CD is a must for lovers of a cappella singing! - Carus-Verlag

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 30, 2012

  • Catalog Number: CV83379

  • UPC: 4009350833791

  • Label: Carus

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Adriano Banchieri, Anonymous, Calmus Ensemble Leipzig, Claudio Monteverdi, Clément Janequin, Freddie Mercury, Heinrich Schütz, Henry Purcell, Leonard Cohen, Sting

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Calmus Ensemble