Catoire: Piano Concerto, Piano Quintet & Piano Quartet / Triendl, Vogler String Quartet, Berlin RSO

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

“Now I have come across someone who really has a great creative talent.” (Peter Tchaikovsky) Although the originality of his musical language paved the way for Russian modernism, Catoire's work still followed the artistic ideals of Russia and not the new culture of the Soviet Republic. His work is highly expressive and of enormous polyphonic density, greatest expressiveness, fine colors, rhythmic and harmonious scope. Catoire's music was almost never performed and his name remained almost unknown also to expert circles. He left behind 36 works including some symphonic pieces, a piano concerto, chamber music, songs and piano cycles. This music was written in the “fin de siecle”, with its shine and nobility, but also with its fragility.


Catoire's works are attractive and well worth hearing. These performances certainly make an excellent case for them: the pianist Oliver Triendl has no problems with the often demanding piano writing. In the concerto Roland Kluttig and his radio orchestra provide good support and in the two chamber works the Vogler Quartet make excellent partners and play with a will. No complaints about the recording, though different teams and venues were used for the concerto from the chamber works. The disc is handsomely presented with a cover sleeve and altogether this is a quality production.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 08, 2021

  • Catalog Number: C5403

  • UPC: 845221054032

  • Label: Capriccio

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Georgy Catoire

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Berlin Radio Symphony Orchestra (Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin), Vogler String Quartet

  • Performer: Oliver Triendl