Magnificat, Vol. 2

Magnificat, Vol. 2

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Andrew Nethsingha and The Choir of St John’s College, Cambridge release the second volume in the highly-praised Magnificat series and present nine settings of the Evening Canticles by celebrated Organist-Composers, written between 1932 and 1952, and non-church musicians from 1974-1989. The recording culminates with a contemporay setting by Julian Anderson, composed for the Chapel’s 150th anniversary. “These first volumes are designed to complement one another. Magnificat 1 started earlier, with Stanford in the 1880s; Volume Two brings us briefly up to the present day. The first release contained celebrated works by Tippett and Leighton from 1961 and 1972 respectively, in between the two main periods represented on this disc. Both albums contain iconic works by Howells, written a year apart. We hear composers creating different orders of priority for the parameters of composition.” - Andrew Nethsingha

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: SIGCD667

  • UPC: 635212066720

  • Label: Signum Classics

  • Composer: Arvo Pärt, Francis Jackson, Giles Swayne, Herbert Howells, Herbert Sumsion, Julian Anderson, Lennox Berkeley, Sydney Watson, William Walton

  • Conductor: Andrew Nethsingha

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Cambridge St. John's College Choir

  • Performer: Glen Dempsey, James Anderson-Besant