Julian Lloyd Webber - A Span of Time

Regular price $39.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Julian Lloyd Webber, one of the world’s most admired cellists, notably expanded his instrument’s repertoire in the concert hall and on disc. In this retrospective of his art he can be heard as soloist, arranger and conductor. He evokes the lyricism of the songs of Frederick Delius and John Ireland with rich expressivity, adapts a selection of music from Monteverdi to Arvo Part for the combination of two cellos, and crafts new and exciting Vivaldi arrangements. His conducting prowess is shown by supremely sensitive performances of English string music.

Review excerpts from select, previously released volumes included in this set:

And the Bridge Is Love

Lloyd Webber, here as (primarily) conductor, offers an impressive disc of English music that demonstrates a richly rewarding affinity for the repertoire.

– Gramophone

Vivaldi: Concertos for Two Cellos

This is undoubtedly a successful disc which will appeal to many listeners. The playing, throughout, is very accomplished and sensitive and very well captured by the engineers.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8504053

  • UPC: 747313405336

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Anton Rubinstein, Antonín Dvořák, Antonio Vivaldi, Arvo Pärt, Astor Piazzolla, Camille Saint-Saëns, Claudio Monteverdi, Dmitri Shostakovich, Frederick Delius, Giovanni Battista Pergolesi, Gustav Holst, Henry Purcell, Howard Goodall, John Ireland, Joseph Barnby, Nevin Ethelbert, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Reynaldo Hahn, Robert Schumann, Roger Quilter, Sergei Rachmaninov, Sir Edward Elgar, Sir William Walton, William Lloyd Webber

  • Conductor: Hans-Peter Hofmann

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: English Chamber Orchestra, European Union Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Catrin Finch, Guy Johnston, Jiaxin Lloyd Webber, John Lenehan, Julian Lloyd Webber, Laura van der Heijden