Sacred Music / Norrington, SWR Radio Symphony Stuttgart

Regular price $37.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Sir Roger Norrington has been chief conductor of the former Stuttgart Radio Symphony Orchestra (today the SWR Symphonieorchester) for thirteen years. During this time he has caused a stir internationally with what has come to be termed ‘The Stuttgart Sound’: a synthesis of historically-informed performance practice with the technical capabilities of a modern orchestra.

Whether in Mozart, Haydn, Bruckner or Brahms, Norrington has sought to capture the performance experience of the time, adjusting the orchestra’s size and seating plan to create an authentic sound without vibrato. His artistic credo was to keep as close as possible to the composer’s expectations. The present re-issue brings together in a boxed set three of most the important works of Sacred Music from the 19th century: Berlioz' Requiem, Brahms' A German Requiem and Beethoven's Missa solemnis.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 09, 2023

  • Catalog Number: SWR19532CD

  • UPC: 747313953288

  • Label: SWR Classic

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Period: Classical, Romantic

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms, Hector Berlioz, Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Roger Norrington

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: MDR Rundfunkchor Leipzig, NDR-Chor, SWR Vokalensemble, Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR

  • Performer: Florian Boesch, Alastair Miles, John Aler, Cornelia Kallisch, Amanda Halgrimson, Toby Spence, Christina Landshamer


  1. Missa solemnis in D Major, Op. 123

    Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

    Ensemble: SWR Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, North German Radio Choir, SWR Volkensemble

    Performer: Amanda Halgrimson (Soprano), Cornelia Kallisch (Mezzo-Soprano), John Aler (Tenor), Alastair Miles (Bass)

    Conductor: Roger Norrington

  2. Grande messe des morts, Op. 5, "Requiem"

    Composer: Hector Berlioz

    Ensemble: SWR Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, MDR Radio CHoir Leipzig, SWR Volkensemble

    Performer: Toby SPence (Tenor)

    Conductor: Roger Norrington

  3. A German Requiem, Op. 45

    Composer: Johannes Brahms

    Ensemble: SWR Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart, SWR Volkensemble

    Performer: Christina Landshamer (Soprano), Florian Boesch (Bass)

    Conductor: Roger Norrington