Fairytales: A Swedish Children's Book Set to Art Songs / Nordic Light Duo

Regular price $20.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Märchenhaft (Swedish "sagolikt") is a concert program by Nordic Light Duo inspired by the wonderful fairy tale world of the popular children's book author Elsa Beskow. Devotedly and lovingly designed, Beskow's fairy tales and illustrations run like a thread through the musical delightful experiences in it. The program is divided into five sections, each representing a fairy tale: Flower Festival in Täppan, The Story of the Curious Perch, Putte's Adventure in the Blueberry Forest, The Journey to the Land of Long ago, and The Sun Egg. Each section immerses you in an exciting story, enhanced by Elsa's original illustrations. These texts and pictures are then accompanied by songs and piano pieces chosen to match the stories.

Two illustrations are even firsts and can only be seen in this publication, thanks to Daniel Beskow's family ties to Elsa Beskow, his paternal great-grandmother. Because of this connection, the idea for the Märchenhaft project was born in 2018. With it, the two musicians wanted to contribute to the rebirth of Elsa's fantasy world and bring a new musical fairy tale series to life. They firmly believe that this fairy tale treasure belongs to the European cultural heritage and with its re-release in a musical guise, they found an opportunity to pay tribute to Elsa's work in an original way and bring it to a new, larger audience. Fairy Tale has become a huge success in Sweden and the duo has given over a hundred concerts under this name in recent years. The intimate setting, the imaginative mood and the interplay between literature, music and visual arts remain the main features of this exciting project, which we can now also experience on this sound recording.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 16, 2022

  • Catalog Number: ARS38354

  • UPC: 4260052383544

  • Label: Ars Produktion

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Hugo Alfven, Edvard Grieg, Erasmus Langenmuller, Fanny Mendelssohn, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Wilhelm Peterson-Berger, Franz Schubert, Robert Schumann, Jean Sibelius, Emil Sjogren, Wilhem Stenhammar

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Nordic Light Duo

  • Performer: Josefine Andersson, Daniel Beskow