Ek-Stasis - Dionysus, Nymphs & Satyrs

Regular price $27.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Experience the captivating journey of Ek-stasis, presented by Divine Art Recordings. Delve into the world of myths reconstructed in music by celebrated composers from different cultures and times. This unique album features three world premiere recordings, bringing fresh and exciting music to the programme. Greek pianist and professor Zoe Samsarelou has expertly curated a selection of works that weave together an interconnected narrative, taking you on a journey through the myth of Dionysus. From the works of Couperin, Rameau, Dandrieu, and Daquin to the eminent Greek composers of the 20th and 21st centuries and the Late Romantics in between, each piece is thoughtfully selected and presented. The album is divided into themes of seduction, pathos, illusion, metamorphosis, transcendence, instinct, catharsis, mythos, paradox, and transition. This creates an immersive experience that guides the listener through the various stages of the myth and offers a musical perspective on the story. Accompanied by Zoe Samsarelou's insightful prose on the collection and notes on the Greek composers featured in the program, Ek-stasis is more than just a listening experience. It's a celebration of the Greek spirit that has influenced humanity for over 2,500 years, highlighting the creativity and ingenuity of these wonderful composers.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 09, 2023

  • Catalog Number: DDX21237

  • UPC: 809730123726

  • Label: Divine Art

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Sergei Bortkeiwicz,Francois Couperin,Francois Dandrieu,Louis-Claude Daquin,Claude Debussy,Paul Dukas,Harry Farjeon,Paul Juon,Giorgios Koumendakis,Mischa Levitzki,Dimitris Marangopoulos,Jules Massenet,Aspasia Nasopoulou,Jean-Philippe Rameau,Florent Schmitt,Deodat de Severac,Nikos Skalkottas,Nestor Taylor,Dimitri Terzakis,Lina Tonia

  • Performer: Zoe Samsarelou