Rameau: Platée / Brownlee, Fuchs, Vidal, Teitgen, Minkowski, Musiciens du Louvre

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Jean-Philippe Rameau’s Platée is a masterpiece of the French operatic repertoire and was highly regarded by critics during the composer’s lifetime. Composed for the marriage of the Dauphin Louis, son of Louis XV, to the Infanta Maria Teresa of Spain, it was first performed at Versailles in 1745 and became an instant hit. The plot concerns the ugly and conceited frog Platée, the victim of a machination of the gods who make her believe that she is loved by Jupiter. Is this Rameau mocking Princess Maria Teresa of Spain – reputedly a woman of little beauty? Or the French court, which saw itself as a new Olympus? This classic production from the Opéra de Paris by Marc Minkowski and Laurent Pelly returns to the stage with an entirely new cast, featuring Julie Fuchs, Mathias Vidal, Jean Teitgen and Lawrence Brownlee.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 05, 2024

  • Catalog Number: BAC224

  • UPC: 3760115302242

  • Label: Bel Air Classiques

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Baroque

  • Composer: Jean-Philippe Rameau

  • Conductor: Marc Minkowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Chours de l'Opera national de Paris, Les Musiciens du Louvre

  • Performer: Lawrence Brownlee, Julie Fuchs, Jean Teitgen, Adriana Bignagni Lesca, Francois-Rene Martin, Laurent Pelly, Marc Mauillon, Mathias Vidal, Nahuel Di Pierro, Reinoud Van Mechelen, Tamara Bounazou