J. Strauss Jr: Die Gottin Der Vernunft / Pollack, Kumpfmuller, Cortez, Mittermeier, Fodinger

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Set in the town of Chalons near the German border at the time of the French Revolution during the Reign of Terror in 1794, Johann Strauss II’s final operetta The Goddess of Reason languished for 111 years until this 2009 in-concert revival. Its light-hearted mockery of the aristocracy, morality and the army, somewhat controversial at the time, seems as harmless now as that of Bernstein’s ebullient opera Candide and its humour stands the test of time. Abounding in waltz tunes and marches, its exuberant music is vintage Strauss. For this recording Christian Pollack has reconstructed the score as it would have been heard on its opening night with additional items that Strauss added for its 25th performance.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 31, 2011

  • Catalog Number: 8660280-81

  • UPC: 730099028073

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Johann Strauss Jr.

  • Conductor: Christian Pollack

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Slovak Sinfonietta Zilina

  • Performer: Andreas Mittermeier, Eva-maria Kumpfmüller, Franz Fodinger, Isabella Ma-zach, Kirlianit Cortez, Manfred Equiluz, Veronika Groiss, Wolfgang Veith