Karlsen, Vaage & H. Vogt: Vintersong / Saether

Regular price $16.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

All the music on this release has the countertenor as a common denominator. There is something beautifully unsettling about the voice type. It throws us back to a fortunately bygone time when the same vocal properties were reached by the barbaric practice that produced the male “castrati”. Nowadays, male singers who wish to sing in this register develop their falsetto and head voice techniques in a natural way. The three composers represented here are all honest seekers who choose to adopt different musical approaches according to their temperaments. In some cases we hear an explicit adherence to more traditional tonality. In others the connection to a tonal root is tenuous at best. Yet, each and every piece in these recordings has a particular beauty born of its inner necessities. And it is all recognizable as music.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 07, 2022

  • Catalog Number: LWC1236

  • UPC: 7090020182582

  • Label: Lawo

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: Contemporary

  • Composer: Kjell Mork Karlsen, Knut Vaage, Herman Vogt

  • Performer: Daniel Saether