The Philip Smith Collection, Album 1

Regular price $18.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
From the New York Philharmonic's in-house label come three separate and distinct albums of orchestral fare that highlights the trumpet, including eleven complete concertos, all featuring the orchestra's longstanding and recently retired principal trumpet chair, Phillip Smith, in performances stretching across the more than thirty years this most distinguished and honored musician occupied the position, 1979-2013. Album 1, available on CD and digital download, is a 21-track offering that boasts highlights from four of Gustav Mahler's nine symphonies, as well as works by Bernstein, Copland, Stravinsky, Ives, Bach, and others, in whole or on part. Album 1 also includes a 32-page booklet containing photos, notes and essays. Albums 2 & 3, available as digital downloads only, boast complete concertos by Vivaldi, Molter, Haydn and Zwilich, among several other important trumpet-centric concerted works. "For the past 36 years, Philip Smith has presided over orchestral trumpet playing, with a resonant, clarion sound and a reputation for never missing a note." (The New Yorker)

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 12, 2015

  • UPC: 619054189823

  • Catalog Number: NYP20150201

  • Label: New York Philharmonic

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Aaron Copland, Charles Ives, George Frideric Handel, George Gershwin, Gustav Mahler, Igor Stravinsky, Johann Sebastian Bach, Leonard Bernstein, Lew Pollack, Modest Mussorgsky, Ottorino Respighi

  • Conductor: Alan Gilbert, Bramwell Tovey, Lorin Maazel

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New York Philharmonic Principal Brass Quintet

  • Performer: Alan Baer, Jonathan Lemalu, Joseph Alessi, Matt Muckey, Philip Myers, Philip Smith