English Song Collection

Regular price $128.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
The acclaimed English Song Series celebrates the richness and diversity of British composers, performed by leading interpreters of the repertoire. Growing out of an ancient...

The acclaimed English Song Series celebrates the richness and diversity of British composers, performed by leading interpreters of the repertoire. Growing out of an ancient tradition that still echoes in the folk song arrangements of Benjamin Britten, the British art song draws its inspiration from the English poetic language, the nation’s unique land and seascapes, and the suffering and joy of human emotions. From the delightfully light-hearted songs of Liza Lehmann to the abundance of invention and imagery from today’s composers, this collection is a repository of the essence of British musical craftsmanship at its finest.


There is so much is here that is central to the genre, and it is all almost uniformly well done. In addition, there is enough here that is less well-known, assuming many collectors will have the main works of, say, Butterworth, Finzi, Vaughan Williams, and others, that even that collector will grow their knowledge and pleasure through acquiring this collection. It is to be hoped that this issue does not signal an end to Naxos’s recordings of this repertoire. There are many other composers and songs that could be added to its catalog. Meanwhile we have this superb anthology of many of the finest English songs from the late Victorians to the present day.

-- MusicWeb International

This superlative set's roster is impressive, with turns from Felicity Lott, Thomas Allen, Susan Bickley, Gerald Finley and even Judi Dench.

– BBC Music Magazine

This set will surely provide many hours of listening pleasure.

-- Gramophone

This is a hugely ambitious and successful project that deserves many hours of attention and appreciation. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

– Opera Now

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 14, 2021

  • UPC: 730099250740

  • Catalog Number: 8502507

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 25

  • Period: ""

  • Composer: Arthur Somervell, Benjamin Britten, Charles Edward Horn, George Butterworth, Gerald Finzi, Gustav Holst, Ian Venables, Ivor Gurney, John Ireland, Jonathan Dove, Liza Lehmann, Peter Warlock, Ralph Vaughan Williams, Roger Quilter, Traditional, William Alwyn, William Walton

  • Conductor: Christopher Barnett, Simon Joly, Steuart Bedford

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: BBC Singers, Duke Quartet, Northern Sinfonia, Sacconi Quartet, Wenhaston Boys Choir

  • Performer: Adrian Thompson, Amanda Pitt, Andrew Kennedy, Andrew Matthews-Owen, Anthony Rolfe-Johnson, Carlos Bonell, Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Christine Pendrill, Christopher Maltman, Christopher van Kampen, Claire Booth, Craig Ogden, David Owen Norris, David Wilson-Johnson, Derek Lee Ragin, Elin Manahan Thomas, Felicity Lott, Frank Lloyd, Gerald Finley, Graham Johnson, Graham Titus, Iain Burnside, Ivan McCready, Janice Watson, Jean Rigby, Jeremy Huw Williams, Joanne Thomas, John Constable, John Mark Ainsley, John Metcalfe, John Turner, Judi Dench, Judith Harris, Lisa Milne, Louisa Fuller, Lucy Wakeford, Margaret Feaviour, Mark Wilde, Martyn Hill, Neal Davies, Nicky Spence, Osian Ellis, Patricia Bardon, Patricia Rozario, Philip Langridge, Philippa Davies, Richard Hosford, Roderick Williams, Simon Keenlyside, Steuart Bedford, Susan Bickley, Susan Gritton, Thomas Allen, Toby Spence, Vernon Kirk