Above and Beyond / Schwarz, "President's Own" US Marine Band

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Few wind ensembles have earned such international acclaim as the United States Marine Band, virtuosos who here perform an excitingly varied programme directed by the award-winning conductor of the Seattle Symphony, Gerard Schwarz. Established classics such as Frederick Fennell’s edition of Percy Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy sit alongside Paul Creston’s festive Celebration Overture. Copland’s pungent Emblems evokes Amazing Grace in masterly fashion, whilst Schwarz himself contributes his own recent composition Above and Beyond, written specifically for this band in recognition of its remarkable musicianship.

"The award-winning conductor of the Seattle Symphony, Gerard Schwarz, conducts the famous American band in a programme of original works and transcriptions...for me the jewels of the disc come in Paul Creston’s vivacious Celebration Overture...and Copland’s Emblems, the whimsical and brilliant outer movements framing the Amazing Grace melody. Needless to say the playing is of the highest quality, while the recording is punchy and well detailed."
-- David Denton, Naxos [5/2014]

"Above and Beyond may be one of the finest overall programs in Naxos’ wind band series. The release features a great collection of significant classic band music in superb performances while introducing two recent pieces into the mix as well."
-- Steven A. Kennedy, Cinemusical [4/2014]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8573121

  • UPC: 747313312177

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Aaron Copland, Bernard Rands, Gerard Schwarz, Jacques Offenbach, Paul Creston, Percy Aldridge Grainger, Samuel Barber

  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: [""President's Own" United States Marine Band"]