La Femme - Journey of Female Composers / Goranci, World Chamber Orchestra

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Through much of history the language of women has been told through men, but La Femme turns this narrative upside down. All of these composers share an unrelenting will to be artistic, often in opposition to the societies in which they found themselves. From the very earliest medieval verses by Kassia via the blind virtuoso Maria von Paradis’ famed Sicilienne and Holocaust victim Ilse Weber’s moving Wiegla, to powerful modern statements by the likes of Niloufar Nourbakhsh and Flaka Goranci’s own contribution, The Speech of Love - this entire project is dedicated to all creative women in music.


  • Suad Bushnaq: The Borrowed Dress (From "The Borrowed Dress")
  • Dima Orsho: Those Forgotten on the Banks of the Euphrates
  • Jasmin Reuter: Salomea
  • Trad.: Ой не світи місяченьку
  • Weber, I: Wiegala
  • Paradis: Sicilienne in E-Flat Major
  • Nourbakhsh: The Window
  • Flaka Goranci: The Speech of Love
  • Pejačević: Blumenleben, Op. 19
  • Ella Milch Sheriff: Zeh hayofi
  • Annamaria Kowalsky: Perpetuo (Encore Version)
  • Kassia: Pelagia
  • Vratchanska: Peperuga
  • Nazife Aral Güran: 3 Concert Etudes for Piano
  • Trad.: Со маки сум се родила
  • Zebeljan: Sarabande for Chamber Clarinet, Violin & Piano
  • Caccini, F: 36 Solo Songs & Duets, No. 29, Chi desia di saper


This is a very interesting concept album, highlighting not only the creativity and artistry of women but also giving priority to their beliefs and passions. Sources range from the mediaeval period to the present day with an emphasis on the more contemporary. A variety of styles and media are employed – art song, piano solo, western and eastern influences, acoustic instruments and electronic timbres. This is a far-reaching project to educate and inspire and a very enjoyable program.

-- Lark Reviews (Stephen Page)

This disc celebrates female composers and highlights their battle against prejudice. It should be a given that members of half of the world’s population can lead, innovate, make discoveries and create art as well, or better than, the other half. Flaka Goranci has showcased composers whom we should know better. I look forward to hearing more from her and from them. She is also the leading performer, and her stunning voice is ably and sympathetically accompanied by the World Chamber Orchestra conducted by Konstantinos Diminakis.

Goranci has outstanding collaborators. Dima Orsho sings alongside her in Arabic. Zoryana Kushpler performs the Ukrainian folk song. Violinist Maximilian Bratt, cellist Teodora Miteva and pianist Donka Angatscheva make a faultless contribution. This brilliant disc should be cherished and shared around. It shows how women are the equal of men. It comes with my highest recommendation.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 25, 2022

  • Catalog Number: 8551470

  • UPC: 730099147033

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Kassia, Suad Bushnaq, Francesca Caccini, Flaka Goranci, Nazife Aral Guran, Annamaria Kowalsky, Miriam Makeba, Niloufar Nourbakhsh, Dima Orsho, Maria Theresia von Paradis, Dora Pejacevic, Jasmin Reuter, Eriona Rushiti, Ella Milch Sheriff, Consuelo Velazquez, Pauline Viardot, Albena Petrovic Vratchanska, Ilse Weber, Isidora Zebeljan

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: World Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Flaka Goranci, Dima Orsho, Zoryana Kushpler, Teodora Miteva, Donka Angatscheva, Maximilian Bratt