Nørgård: Symphony No. 8; Orchestral Works / Storgårds, Bergen Philharmonic

Regular price $21.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Having celebrated his 90th birthday in 2022, Per Nørgård is undoubtedly one of the most important Danish composers since Nielsen. His important production that covers all genres is a highly personal travel document based on his endless incursions through the sonic labyrinths of this world.

Based on material from Nørgård’s viola concerto from 1986, Three Nocturnal Movements for violin, cello and orchestra came about on the initiative of the violinist Peter Herresthal and the cellist Jakob Kullberg, two of his long-term collaborators. The work was creatively developed for two soloists by Kullberg, who decided on the form of the movement after making a selection of musical fragments described as ‘nocturnal’.

Dedicated to the conductor John Storgårds, Symphony No. 8 appears bright, transparent while its atmosphere is somewhat mysterious and filled with tension. This symphony, his most recent work in this genre, can be compared to latter works from other Nordic composers like Sibelius and Nielsen. Finally, Lysning, a short piece for string orchestra, has been described by Nørgård as a ‘glade’ and is made of an alternance of darker and brighter variations of the same musical ideas heard in different instrumental colourings and nuances.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 01, 2023

  • Catalog Number: BIS-2502

  • UPC: 7318599925028

  • Label: BIS

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century, Contemporary

  • Composer: Per Nørgård

  • Conductor: John Storgårds

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Jakob Kullberg, Peter Herresthal


  1. Three Nocturnal Movements

    Composer: Per Nørgård

    Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

    Performer: Peter Herresthal (Violin), Jakob Kullberg (Cello)

    Conductor: John Storgårds

  2. Symphony No. 8

    Composer: Per Nørgård

    Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

    Conductor: John Storgårds

  3. Lysning (Glade)

    Composer: Per Nørgård

    Ensemble: Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra

    Conductor: John Storgårds