Heifetz- Violin Concertos

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"The gem of this disc is the Wieniawski concerto, with which Heifetz not only created a sensation on his American debut at the age of 16 but which he was the first to record. A virtuoso work par excellence, it affords him infinite opportunities to display his phenomenal brilliance, impeccable intonation and (in the Romanze) beautiful phrasing and soulfully emotional tone—which, as all violinists observe with fascination, owes much to his individual fingerings. The tuttis in this work have been somewhat cut, but that is of little consequence in a purely solo vehicle like this. The perfection of his rapid spiccato bowing in the finale is enough to make mere mortal string players despair. The recording still sounds well after nearly 40 years."

-- Lionel Salter, Gramophone [11/1992]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RCA60927

  • UPC: 090266092727

  • Label: RCA

  • Composer: Henri Wieniawski, Julius Conus, Max Bruch, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky

  • Conductor: Alfred Wallenstein, Izler Solomon

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, RCA Victor Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Jascha Heifetz