Strauss: Elektra / Andersson-Palme, Kohler, Royal Swedish Opera

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Based on ancient Greek mythology and Sophocles' tragedy Electra, the opera is the second of Strauss’s two highly modernist operas, the first being Salome. Laila Andersson-Palme was born in 1941 and moved to Stockholm in 1960. She was immediately accepted in the solo class at the Royal College of Music and began to perform in small roles at the Opera. Following a hugely successful career often singing Richard Strauss and Richard Wagner, in various roles, in 1985 she was appointed Court singer in 1985 and was elected in 1997 as member no. 913 of the Royal Swedish Academy of Music.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: March 03, 2023

  • Catalog Number: CDA1867

  • UPC: 7393338186724

  • Label: Sterling Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Period: Late Romantic

  • Composer: Richard Strauss

  • Conductor: Sigfried Kohler

  • Performer: Gunilla Soderstrom, Anita Soldh, Lennart Stregard, Gunnar Lundberg, Royal Swedish Opera Orchestra, Royal Swedish Opera Chorus