Samaras: Mademoiselle de Belle-Isle

Samaras: Mademoiselle de Belle-Isle

Regular price $29.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Remembered today for the Olympic Anthem, Spyridon Samaras was the most distinguished Greek composer of his day and the first to gain international recognition. By the time Mademoiselle de Belle-Isle was produced, Samaras was a well-established and much-admired opera composer in the Italian Romantic style. The narrative of the opera sees the mischievous plans of the Duke of Richelieu descending into a complex tangle of amorous deceptions, tests of faithfulness and the perils of dueling. The score for this world premiere recording has been painstakingly restored by Byron Fidetzis.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 11, 2021

  • Catalog Number: 8660508-09

  • UPC: 730099050876

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Spyridon Samaras

  • Conductor: Byron Fidetzis

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Kaval Choir of Sofia, Pazardzhik Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Angelo Simos, Marina Krilovici, Martha Arapis, Pantelis Kontos, Pavlos Maropoulos, Tassis Christoyannis