The Swedish Smorgasbord in Orchestral Music / Various

The Swedish Smorgasbord in Orchestral Music / Various

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is a collection of Swedish orchestral recordings, originally released on LP and now transferred to new mediums. The music spans the Baroque era of Johan Agrell through to the mid-20th century of Bo Linde. There are many premiere recordings here, including Peterson-Berger’s May Carnival in Stockholm, an exciting work celebrating the end of winter and the Stockholm Spring. Other highlights are Erik Saedéns wonderful singing of the Peterson-Berger ballads, the brooding Romanticism of Adolf Wiklund’s Symphonic Prologue, and the timeless melodies of Lars-Erik Larsson long appreciated by Swedish audiences. Hugo Alfvén’s short piece, part of a cantata, was said to be the composer’s own favorite composition. Varied and rich, as it should be - a Smörgåsbord of Swedish orchestral music.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: July 02, 2021

  • Catalog Number: CDS1129

  • UPC: 7393338112921

  • Label: Sterling Records

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Adolf Wiklund, Albert Henneberg, August Söderman, Bo Linde, Hugo Alfvén, Johan Joachim Agrell, Lars-Erik Larsson, Ruben Liljefors, Sven Skold, Sven-Eric Johanson, Wilhelm Peterson-Berger

  • Conductor: Björn Hallman, Goran W. Nilson, Harry Damgaard, Staern Gunnar, Sten Frykberg

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Gävle Symphony Orchestra, Gavleborg Symphony Orchestra, Norrköping Symphony Orchestra, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra, Västerås Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Antonio Nicolini, Bo Linde, Erik Saedén