Swedish Orchestral Favourites Vol 2 / Sundkvist, Swedish Co

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

This is an incredibly beautiful CD, one that will surely be played repeatedly around here. The repertoire is mostly for string orchestra and every piece is a romantic gem. Lars-Erik Larsson's music occupies half the CD, and ranges from the tuneful Little Serenade to the eloquent, soul searching Adagio. Gunnar de Frumerie wrote romantic music within a neo-classic framework, and his Pastoral Suite, exquisitely played here, is a prime example. Kurt Atterberg's Suite, which began life as music for a play called Sister Beatrice, is perhaps on a more spiritual level than the pastoral works of the other composers. Atterberg's use of modality at times makes it reminiscent of Vaughan Williams' Tallis Fantastia, and it is just about as lovely and nearly as significant. The lovely little Blomdahl romance might come as a surprise to listeners who only know this composer from his stringent, modern-to-the-max compositions. The playing throughout is incredibly beautiful. This orchestra plays with a rich, ripe tone that is completely disarming, and conductor Petter Sundkvist gets the utmost in nuance from every player. The Naxos sound is full and warm with lots of well-defined bass. This CD is a real find.--Rad Bennett, ClassicsToday.com

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8553715

  • UPC: 730099471527

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Gunnar de Frumerie, Karl-Birger Blomdahl, Kurt Atterberg, Lars-Erik Larsson, Ture Rangström

  • Conductor: Petter Sundkvist

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Swedish Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Johanna Persson, Sara Trobäck, Sarah Lindloff