Karabits: Concertos for Orchestra / Karabits

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Following Ukraine’s independence in 1991, Ivan Karabits became the country’s leading musical figure. An inspirational composer, artistic director and teacher, he absorbed into his own music three particular traditions: Mahler, Shostakovich, and the folk-music of his native country. The colourful, virtuosic and at times theatrical Concertos for Orchestra reflect the influence of his friend and mentor, Rodion Shchedrin. Following Karabits’ untimely death, his compatriot Valentin Silvestrov composed two heartfelt memorials. The first of these, Elegie, makes use of Karabits’ own unfinished pencil sketches which sit side by side with Silvestrov’s own ideas as the piece progresses, almost as if it were a dialogue between the two friends about their work.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8572633

  • UPC: 747313263370

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Ivan Karabits, Valentin Silvestrov

  • Conductor: Kirill Karabits

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra