Bernstein Century - Dvorak, Goldmark, Humperdinck, Smetana

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Bernstein's tendency to program and record pieces that were his favorites may benefit us all. This recording brings together Bernstein performances of somewhat diverse composers that work well as a single disc. The 'Slavonic Dances' of Dvorak crackle with orchestral color and force, and leave an appetite for more. The 'Rustic Wedding' Symphony of Goldmark bubbles with charm and lilt under the baton of Bernstein. And the 'Children's Prayer' of Humperdinck floats in an ethereal grace and heightened musicality in an impressive way that many have missed.
As usual, Bernstein finds what others may have overlooked. He sees the beauty in the details, and such details are exactly what allow these pieces to rise to the levels imagined by the men who composed them. Bernstein knew that. His renditions never fail to interest, and these New York recordings are no exception.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 15, 2009

  • Catalog Number: SONY61836

  • UPC: 074646183625

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Bedrich Smetana, Engelbert Humperdinck, Karl Goldmark

  • Conductor: Leonard Bernstein

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New York Philharmonic