Brahms: Piano Concerto No 1 / Bernstein, Gould

Regular price $11.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This is the first authorized release of this performance. The disc also includes Bernstein's pre-performance remarks and an interview with Glenn Gould from a 1964 New York Philharmonic broadcast.
This disc should serve as an extremely important historical novelty to those listeners familiar with the players and the repertoire. The performance is taken from a 1962 radio broadcast, and Bernstein begins the program with a disclaimer. He tells the intrigued audience that while he looks upon Gould as a supreme artist, he does not agree with the soloist's interpretation of the work, that they share major interpretive discrepancies. Despite this, Bernstein opts to go along with Gould's interpretation.
And so begins this disc, followed by what Bernstein himself called one of the most "unorthodox" renditions of the Brahms he has ever heard. With its varying tempi, sometimes as slow as molasses, Gould still manages to express perfectly what this piece calls for: a sense of majesty, intensity, and delicacy all at once. Bernstein and the New York Philharmonic create an ambience that is as reflective as Gould could have asked for. This disc is indeed a fascinating tribute to the two great artists who could not agree.

Product Description:

  • Release Date: September 22, 1998

  • Catalog Number: SK60675

  • UPC: 074646067529

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Conductor: Leonard Bernstein

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: New York Philharmonic

  • Performer: Glenn Gould


  1. Concerto for Piano no 1 in D minor, Op. 15

    Composer: Johannes Brahms

    Ensemble: New York Philharmonic

    Performer: Glenn Gould (Piano)

    Conductor: Leonard Bernstein