Dvorák, Bartok: Cello Concertos / Starker, Slatkin, St Louis

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
"The unique item on the Starker disc is the first ever recording of the Bartok Viola Concerto in the cello version prepared by the man who originally completed Bartok's sketches of this work, Tibor Serly. I am surprised to find that—according to the notes accompanying the disc—it was published some 30 years ago, but never taken up until Starker started playing it. There is a strong case for preferring the cello version, when the lower register gives extra warmth to the melodic writing, notably in the Adagio religioso slow movement. If Starker shows a degree of emotional restraint in the Dvorak—almost as though he no longer finds the piece quite so fresh—his performance of the Bartok is stirringly expressive, very idiomatically Hungarian in the rhythmic pointing and linking of contrasted sections. He is brilliantly backed up by Slatkin and the St Louis orchestra who offer some alert playing. I hope now that cellists may take up this version more widely, both in concert and on disc, even though that would be hard luck on viola players, whose repertory is even sparser."

-- Edward Greenfield, Gramophone [3/1992]

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RCA60717

  • UPC: 090266071722

  • Label: RCA

  • Composer: Antonín Dvořák, Béla Bartók

  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: St. Louis Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: János Starker