Leonard Slatkin conducts Elgar

Regular price $23.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Available for the first time in the United States, this set from the Sony Classical Masters Series features Leonard Slatkin conducting the London Philharmonic Orchestra, the Philharmonia Orchestra and the Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra (featuring Pinchas Zukerman on violin) in the works of Elgar including Symphonies nos. 1 & 2, Violin Concerto, Cello Concerto, and “Enigma” Variations.


Leonard Slatkin's Elgar recordings are among the best recordings of the works in the past 20 years. Slatkin's understanding of Elgar's music and his ability to articulate both its grandly monumental and deeply intimate qualities is unsurpassed among his contemporaries and his interpretations are marvelously controlled and wonderfully expressive. Of course, Slatkin is aided by the strong and sympathetic playing of the London Philharmonic and by the soulful virtuosity of violinist Pinchas Zukerman and cellist Janos Starker. And RCA does capture all their performances in clear, deep, and warm digital sound. While no one who loves Elgar's music should be without Barbirolli and Boult's recordings, anyone who loves Elgar's music would like Slatkin's recordings.

– All Music Guide

Product Description:

  • Release Date: May 12, 2017

  • Catalog Number: 88883737202

  • UPC: 888837372022

  • Label: Sony

  • Number of Discs: 4

  • Composer: Sir Edward Elgar

  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: János Starker, Pinchas Zukerman