Ravel: Orchestral Works Vol 2 / Slatkin, Lyon

Regular price $19.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

Maurice Ravel’s Valses nobles et sentimentales present a vivid mixture of atmospheric impressionism, intense expression and modernist wit, his fascination with the waltz further explored in La valse, a mysterious evocation of a vanished imperial epoch. Heard here in an orchestration by Marius Constant, Gaspard de la nuit is Ravel’s response to the other-worldly poems of Aloysius Bertrand, and the dance suite Le tombeau de Couperin is a tribute to friends who fell in the war of 1914–18 as well as a great 18th-century musical forbear. ‘It is a delightful and assorted collection…presented in splendid performances by the Orchestre National de Lyon led by their music director, the venerable American conductor Leonard Slatkin.’

Product Description:

  • Release Date: November 19, 2013

  • Catalog Number: 8572888

  • UPC: 747313288878

  • Label: Naxos

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Composer: Maurice Ravel

  • Conductor: Leonard Slatkin

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Lyon National Orchestra