Beethoven: Piano Concerto No 1, Sonata Op 28 / De Laroccha

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Alicia de Larrocha's Beethoven is 'central' in the most constructive sense of that term—in other words, moderately paced, warm-hearted, cleanfingered and free of attention-seeking mannerisms. Tilson Thomas reflects her comparatively romantic bias—this isn't quite the superfine Beethoven of his ECO symphony cycle—and has the LSO support her with poise and propriety. The Sonata is equally composed, though here de Larrocha traces some interesting contrapuntal detail (at the beginning of the Andante, for example).

-- Gramophone [12/1993]
reviewing these performances included as part of RCA 61675

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: RCA61676

  • UPC: 090266167623

  • Label: Sony

  • Composer: Ludwig van Beethoven

  • Conductor: Michael Tilson Thomas

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: London Symphony Orchestra

  • Performer: Alicia de Larrocha