Nikolaus Harnoncourt: The Complete Sony Recordings

Regular price $199.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

"American art music ambrosia." -- New York Times

Nikolaus Harnoncourt – The Complete Sony Recordings brings together for the first time Harnoncourt’s complete recordings from 2002–2015 with his Concentus Musicus Wien, the Vienna Philharmonic, the Chamber Orchestra of Europe and the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra.

The edition features his famous symphony recordings of Mozart, Haydn, Beethoven, and Bruckner, alongside his celebrated performances of great choral works such as the Verdi, Brahms, and Requiems and Haydn’s Die Schöpfung, as well as Mozart’s opera Zaide, Haydn’s Orlando paladino and Gershwin’s Porgy and Bess. Also included are previously authorized but unreleased recordings of J. S. Bach’s Cantatas Nos. 26 & 36, Beethoven’s Christus am Ölberge and Dvorák’s Stabat Mater.

The set comes with a 136-page coffee-table book featuring a newly written essay on Nikolaus Harnoncourt – musician, conductor and researcher – plus all of his own liner notes and interviews that came with the original releases.

The edition also contains Mozart’s Die Zauberflöte on DVD, the DVD documentary Mission Mozart with pianist Lang Lang, rehearsal excerpts, interviews and lectures by Harnoncourt on CD and DVD, and finally the complete sung texts on CD-ROM.

With 61 CDs and 3 DVDs – Nikolaus Harnoncourt – The Complete Sony Recordings is the authoritative artistic legacy of one of the most charismatic and significant figures in the world of classical music.


This compilation, commemorating his later recordings, reminds us that he was not purely an early-music specialist. Highlights include Handel, Haydn, and Mozart, to be sure, but there’s also Verdi, Smetana, and even Gershwin. For Harnoncourt devotees, there is also previously unreleased Bach, Beethoven, and Dvorak.

­– New York Times

Product Description:

  • Release Date: October 07, 2016

  • Catalog Number: 88875173752

  • UPC: 888751737525

  • Label: Sony Music Entertainment

  • Number of Discs: 64

  • Composer: Anton Bruckner, Antonín Dvořák, Bedrich Smetana, Carl Maria von Weber, Franz Joseph Haydn, George Frideric Handel, George Gershwin, Giuseppe Verdi, Johann Sebastian Bach, Johann Strauss Sr., Johannes Brahms, Josef Lanner, Ludwig van Beethoven, Robert Schumann, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Nikolaus Harnoncourt

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Arnold Schoenberg Choir, Bavarian Radio Chorus, Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, Chamber Orchestra of Europe, Concentus Musicus Wien, Vienna Concentus Musicus, Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Angela Renee Simpson, Anna Larsson, Anton Scharinger, Bernard Richter, Bernarda Fink, Christian Gerhaher, Christine Schäfer, Diana Damrau, Dorothea Röschmann, Elisabeth von Magnus, Eva Mei, Florian Boesch, Genia Kühmeier, Georg Zeppenfeld, Gerald Finley, Ildebrando D'Arcangelo, Isabelle Kabatu, Johannes Chum, Johannes Kalpers, Jonathan Lemalu, Julia Kleiter, Kurt Streit, Lang Lang, Laura Aikin, Malin Hartelius, Mandy Fredrich, Markus Schäfer, Markus Werba, Michael Schade, Patricia Petibon, Ruben Drole, Rudolf Buchbinder, Rudolf Schasching, Thomas Hampson, Tobias Moretti, Werner Güra