The Concertos / Kuijken, La Petite Bande

Regular price $53.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This release is the second presented by Accent to celebrate Sigiswald Kuijken’s 75th birthday. It features the complete recordings of concertos made by La Petite Bande and Kuijken on the Accent label. The recordings were made between 2006 and 2016 and include important standard repertoire such as Vivaldi’s Four Seasons and Flute Concertos, Bach’s Brandenburg Concertos and Orchestral Suites, and Haydn’s Symphonies nos. 6-8. Sigiswald Kuijken was born in Dilbeek, near Brussels. He was a member of the Alarius Ensemble of Brussels between 1964 and 1972 and formed La Petite Bande in 1972. Since 1971 he has taught Baroque violin at the Royal Conservatory of The Hague and the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. He is noted for using the older technique of resting the violin on the shoulder without a shoulder rest, rather than held under the chin. He is a member of the Kuijken String Quartet, which he formed in 1986. In recent years, he has also performed as conductor of symphonies of the Romantic era.


Excerpts from reviews of select, previously released volumes included in this set:

Bach: Brandenburg Concertos

There is nothing worth noting to fault. The playing is joyous and even thrilling, and seemingly devoid of any technical strain.

– Fanfare

Bach: The Orchestral Suites

The chamber music quality of the performances is refreshing. There are few musicians who appear more steeped in their worlds than Sigiswald Kuijken and one senses that Bach's pure instrumental vein frees his spirit like none other. A mesmerising purpose, natural balance, and transparency of sound bring these works alive with quite remarkable results.

– Gramophone

Vivaldi: Flute Concertos

This recording has a fresh voice amongst the many discs containing these works. The approach is intelligent, well researched and musically intuitive, and rather than feeling dry and academic, as some period-instrument recordings can be, the high levels of artistry here make the concertos seem as alive and fresh as they undoubtedly were in Vivaldi’s day. Unmissable.

– MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: ACC 24352

  • UPC: 4015023243521

  • Label: Accent

  • Composer: Antonio Vivaldi, Franz Joseph Haydn, Georg Philipp Telemann, Johann Sebastian Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Sigiswald Kuijken

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: La Petite Bande

  • Performer: Bart Coen, Barthold Kuijken, Dmitry Badiarov, Ewald Demeyere, Frank Agsteribbe, Helen MacDougall, Jean-François Madeuf, Luis Otavio Santos, Patrick Beaugiraud, Pierre-Yves Madeuf, Renée Allen, Sara Kuijken, Sigiswald Kuijken, Vinciane Baudhuin