C. P. E. Bach: Sinfonias for Strings Nos. 1-6 / Pinnock, English Concert

Regular price $17.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
This is a hybrid Super Audio CD playable on both regular and Super Audio CD players.

From the total of 19 Symphonies that C.P.E. Bach wrote, six are released on this album. These six String Symphonies, commissioned in 1773 by Bach’s patron Gottfried van Swieten, perfectly represent the late 18th century Sturm und Drang movement in music. They are performed by world renowned harpsichordist and conductor Trevor Pinnock and “his” (The) English Concert, the orchestra he founded in 1972 and led for the next thirty years, and with which he pioneered performance on historical instruments. The recording was made at the Henry Wood Hall in London in October 1979 and will now be added to Pentatone’s revealing Remastered Classics Series. This SACD will give the listener a chance to enjoy in full detail the ground-breaking work of Trevor Pinnock and The English Concert.

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: PTC5186210

  • UPC: 827949021060

  • Label: Pentatone

  • Composer: Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach

  • Conductor: Trevor Pinnock

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: English Concert

  • Performer: Trevor Pinnock