Idil Biret: The Complete Studio Recordings

Regular price $374.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
When Idil Biret went to France in 1949 she generated as much excitement as she had earlier done in Turkey. In the fall of that year the French Radio RTF made an interview with Idil and recorded her performing works by Bach, Couperin, Beethoven and Debussy. Later, in February 1953 the RTF made a second series of recordings with Idil following her performance of Mozart’s Concerto for Two Pianos with Wilhelm Kempff. Both of these are preserved in Idil Biret’s archive and are available in this set. These were her first recordings. She would go on to make professional recordings of nearly every major composer in her recording career that has lasted more than half a century and is still going strong. All of these studio recordings, including some that were never before released commercially, are included in this edition.



Biret grasps the size of Beethoven’s style. The polyphony is laid out in a relaxed way with little indulgence in point making. She keeps the big line and yet is thankfully sparing in her use of fortissimos. The piano is sumptuous. Biret’s gentle and almost sensuous sonorities are really captivating.

– Gramophone

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 22, 2018

  • Catalog Number: 8501303

  • UPC: 730099130349

  • Label: Idil Biret Archive

  • Number of Discs: 130

  • Composer: Alban Berg, Alexander Glazunov, Alexander Scriabin, André Boucourechliev, Anton von Webern, Anton Webern, Arnold Schoenberg, Béla Bartók, Camille Saint-Saëns, Carl Philipp Emmanuel Bach, César Franck, Charles Valentin Alkan, Claude Debussy, Dmitri Shostakovich, Domenico Scarlatti, Edvard Grieg, François Couperin, Franz Liszt, Franz Schubert, Frédéric Chopin, Gabriel Fauré, Gustav Mahler, György Ligeti, Igor Stravinsky, Ilhan Mimaroglu, Johann Sebastian Bach, Johannes Brahms, Jules Massenet, Leo Brouwer, Ludwig van Beethoven, Maurice Ravel, Mily Balakirev, Modest Mussorgsky, Niccolò Castiglioni, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, Nikolay Myaskovsky, Paul Hindemith, Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Pierre Boulez, Robert Schumann, Sergei Prokofiev, Sergei Rachmaninov, Spoken Word, Ulvi Cemal Erkin, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Conductor: Alain Pâris, Antoni Wit, Emil Tabakov, James Loughran, Jean Fournet, José Serebrier, Louis Frémaux, Nadia Boulanger, Patrick Gallois, Robert Stankovsky

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Bilkent Symphony Orchestra, French Radio and Television Symphony Orchestra, Kosice Slovak State Philharmonic Orchestra, London Mozart Players, London String Quartet, Philharmonia Orchestra, Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Turkish State Polyphonic Chorus, Wurttemberg Chamber Orchestra

  • Performer: Ali Sinan Gulsen, Can Serhat Saygi, Ethem Demir, Gulben Ozisik Cayan, Idil Biret, Jean Françaix, Martin Sauer, Ozgecan Gencer, Roderic Von Bennigsen, Sema Baysal