Britten: Billy Budd / Elder, Ainsley, Ens, Paterson, Imbrailo

Regular price $42.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.
Also available on Blu-ray

Glyndebourne has a proud association with the operas of Benjamin Britten, however until 2010 had never staged Billy Budd. The all-male opera with a libretto co-written by EM Forster, is based on the battle between pure good and blind evil, and is set on a British man-‘o-war ship. Michael Grandage, Artistic Director of the Donmar Warehouse, chose this work to make his long-awaited operatic debut. Sir Mark Elder returned to conduct the production, marking the 100th opera production in his illustrious career.

Benjamin Britten

Captain Vere – John Mark Ainsley
Billy Budd – Jacques Imbrailo
Claggart – Phillip Ens
Mr. Redburn – Iain Paterson
Mr. Flint – Matthew Rose
Lieutenant Ratcliffe – Darren Jeffery
Red Whiskers – Alasdair Elliott
Donald – John Moore
Dansker – Jeremy White
Novice – Ben Johnson
Squeak – Colin Judson
Bosun – Richard Mosley-Evans

The Glyndebourne Chorus
London Philharmonic Orchestra
Mark Elder, conductor
Michael Grandage, stage director
- Introducing Billy Budd
- Designs on Billy Budd

Picture format: NTSC 16:9 Anamorphic
Sound format: LPCM Stereo 2.0 / DTS 5.1
Region code: 0 (worldwide)
Menu language: English
Subtitles: English, French, German, Spanish
Running time: 200 mins
No. of DVDs: 1

Product Description:

  • Release Date: June 28, 2011

  • Catalog Number: OA 1051D

  • UPC: 809478010517

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 2

  • Composer: Benjamin Britten

  • Conductor: Mark Elder

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Alasdair Elliott, Ben Johnson, Darren Jeffery, Iain Paterson, Jacques Imbrailo, Jeremy White, John Mark Ainsley, Matthew Rose, Phillip Ens


  1. Billy Budd, Op. 50

    Composer: Benjamin Britten

    Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

    Performer: John Mark Ainsley (Tenor), Alasdair Elliott (Tenor), Phillip Ens (Bass), Jacques Imbrailo (Baritone), Darren Jeffery (Baritone), Ben Johnson (Tenor), Iain Paterson (Bass), Matthew Rose (Bass), Jeremy White (Bass)

    Conductor: Mark Elder