Stravinsky: The Rake's Progress / Persson, Lehtipu, Jurowski, LPO

Regular price $32.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

In this celebrated Glyndebourne Festival production, David Hockney’s designs for director John Cox reinterpret the Hogarth etchings that inspired the opera’s libretto, written for Stravinsky by W.H. Auden and Chester Kallman. In 2010, this revival under Glyndebourne’s Music Director, Vladimir Jurowski, captured the opera’s neo-classical spirit and its juxtaposition of whimsy, cynicism and compassion, prompting the Financial Times to call it,‘‘as enjoyable a performance of Stravinsky’s opera as any that has come along".

Recorded live at the Glyndebourne Opera House 18–19 December 2010

- Documentary includes an interview with David Hockney
- Introduction to the Rake’s Progress

  • Picture format: NTSC 16:9
  • Sound format: LPCM 2.0 / DTS 5.1
  • Region code: 0 (worldwide)
  • Subtitles: English, French, German, Dutch, Japanese, Korean
  • Running time: 140 mins
  • No. of DVDs: 1


Nick Shadow speaks directly to the audience in Act 2, which justifies his winking and gurning at them at various points throughout, usually to show what a dupe his master is, and always to delicious comic effect. His costume, and in particular his hairdo, is ridiculous, yet strangely disquieting. Matthew Rose plays the part to the hilt, making clear from his very first scene that Tom is a pushover and that Anne is where the danger lies. He manages adeptly the comic aspects of the role, at least as far as the graveyard scene, when everything changes. It’s possible to imagine a darker voice for Shadow, but I find his assumption totally convincing. Topi Lehtipuu as Tom is very fine too. He captures very well indeed Tom’s love for Anne, which is genuine and will be his salvation, but which he abandons by weakness of will. Miah Persson is adorable as Anne. She brings out beautifully the vulnerability of the character, but crucially she has brilliantly understood the steely determination present in Anne’s music, and acts it out, both physically and vocally, to perfection. The smaller roles are beautifully taken, and the chorus sings and acts splendidly. Time and again I was struck, as never before, by the sheer beauty of the sound of this work, and the orchestra plays magnificently under the inspiring direction of Vladimir Jurowski.

There are other performances of The Rake’s Progress on DVD, including an earlier incarnation of this same production, finely sung but now superseded technically. Then there is the production from La Monnaie in Brussels, garishly updated to 1950s America. Rapturously received in many quarters, you are likely to love it or hate it. Either way, there is no question, this life-enhancing DVD from Glyndebourne is truly special and not to be missed.

-- MusicWeb International

Product Description:

  • Release Date: January 31, 2012

  • Catalog Number: OA 1062D

  • UPC: 809478010623

  • Label: Opus Arte

  • Number of Discs: 1

  • Period: 20th Century

  • Composer: Igor Stravinsky

  • Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Glyndebourne Chorus, London Philharmonic Orchestra

  • Performer: Clive Bayley, Elena Manistina, Matthew Rose, Miah Persson, Susan Gorton, Topi Lehtipuu


  1. The Rake's Progress

    Composer: Igor Stravinsky

    Ensemble: London Philharmonic Orchestra, Glyndebourne Chorus

    Performer: Clive Bayley (Bass), Elena Manistina (Mezzo-Soprano), Matthew Rose (Bass), Miah Persson (Soprano), Susan Gorton (Mezo-Soprano), Topi Lehtipuu (Tenor)

    Conductor: Vladimir Jurowski