Brahms: Sonata for 2 Pianos & Piano Quintet / Duo d'Accord, Haba Quartett

Regular price $25.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

For this release, OehmsClassics was able to convince the House of Hessen to engage in a small cooperation because the works heard on this album were personally dedicated to Princess Anna von Hessen. Rainer von Hessen has written the following in his preface to this production: "To the best of my knowledge, this is the first time that both chamber works Op. 34 by Johannes Brahms have been united on the same album: his only Piano Quintet and the Sonata for Two Pianos. Previously, both works could be heard at a concert with the duo pianists Lucia Huang and Sebastian Euler as well as the Haba Quartet of the hr Symphony Orchestra at the baroqu eFasanerie Palace near Fulda. With this rather unusual programme combination, a long harbored wish came true for me, namely to hear both works dedicated by Brahms to Princess Anna von Hessen performed on the same evening: the Sonata for Two Pianos in F minor and the Piano Quintet, that resulted from it. This enabled us to sense how the composer increased the sonic attractiveness of his composition by means of refined instrumentation, hardly changing anything else."

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: OC 1868

  • UPC: 4260330918680

  • Label: Oehms Classics

  • Composer: Johannes Brahms

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Duo d'Accord, Hába Quartet

  • Performer: Lucia Huang


  1. Sonata for 2 Pianos in F minor, Op. 34b

    Composer: Johannes Brahms

    Ensemble: Duo d'Accord

  2. Quintet for Piano and Strings in F minor, Op. 34

    Composer: Johannes Brahms

    Ensemble: Hába Quartet

    Performer: Lucia Huang (Piano)