Mozart: Late Piano Trios / Kungsbacka Piano Trio

Regular price $13.99
Added to Cart! View cart or continue shopping.

MOZART Piano Trios: Nos. 4–6; in D, K 442 (compl. Stadler) Kungsbacka Pn Tr NAXOS 8.570519 (76: 42)

This may well be the shortest entry I’ve ever submitted; for assuming that my review of Volume 1 of the Kungsbacka’s Mozart piano trios appeared in the 32:5 issue, there’s little to add. The current Volume 2 completes this ensemble’s run of Mozart’s six official trios for violin, cello, and piano, filling out the disc with an additional three-movement trio cobbled together by the Abbé Maximilian Stadler from fragmentary odds and ends that were probably intended for other pieces.

To restate what I said in my previous review, “The Kungsbacka Trio is a modern-instruments ensemble, but it plays stylishly and tastefully. Translation: articulation is crisp, vibrato is minimal, tempos are spirited in allegro movements and forward moving in andante movements, open strings are not avoided, and first movement exposition repeats are taken. For those who don’t already have one or more versions of these trios in their collections and/or who are not uncompromising advocates for period instruments, the Kungsbacka Trio can be recommended for very fine playing, and Naxos’s recording, at a price that can’t be beat, is excellent.”

Now that this cycle is complete, it definitely vies for equal favor with other preferred versions by the Florestan, Parnassus, and Gryphon Trios. And at budget price, it possibly edges them out slightly. Strongly recommended.

FANFARE: Jerry Dubins

Product Description:

  • Catalog Number: 8570519

  • UPC: 747313051977

  • Label: Naxos

  • Composer: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

  • Orchestra/Ensemble: Kungsbacka Piano Trio

  • Performer: Jesper Svedberg, Malin Broman, Simon Crawford-Phillips